Our new MODA Collection…

We went to America, Kate and I, and as guests of MODA FABRICS we showed off our brand new collection of quilting fabrics to some of the 22 million quilters across the USA.

What an extraordinary new world we discovered!   It was our first trip to Salt Lake city and we were overwhelmed by the charm, wholesomeness and exuberance of the city, we met heavenly people and had an enthusiastic reception to our first attempt in designing fabrics for the quilting world.

Moda_Fabric_Collection

When we embarked upon the collaboration with MODA Fabrics, I went back to the roots of Cabbages & Roses.   Our first fabrics were based on the faded, worn, crumpled fabrics once available in the 50’s – the sort of fabric you could only find in scraps in junk shops and vintage fairs.   This jolly, lighthearted range of fabrics are perfect for making old fashioned quilts as well as clothing and accessories.   The stripes add strength and body, coordinating with the florals both large and small.    As with all our fabrics, they look better washed and air dried, giving the prints an added dimension and movement in the cloth.   Where we have printed the same pattern on different coloured base cloths, one white and one cream, the idea is to use them together in quilting designs, giving the impression of sun faded areas.   There is something wholesome in time worn and faded – this is what we have created.   The rest is up to you, limited only by your imagination!

These fabrics will be available from September 2011, check the MODA website,  or call 800-527-9447 or send an email to service@unitednotions.com for stockists.

Keep your eyes peeled for free patterns, projects and lovely giveaways from now until  September.   Here are a few shots from our photo-shoot with the new fabrics.

Moda_Fabric_Collection

Pretty blues and white hanging on the washing line

C&R_MODA_COLLECTION

Quintessentially English summer picnic

C&R_MODA_COLLECTION

Raking the leaves to get the perfect shot

Afternoon tea in the garden

Cushions made from our pretty collection

Blue and white collection

 

Love C & R xx

Tags: , , ,

20 Responses to “Our new MODA Collection…”

  1. Tracie~My Petite Maison Says:

    So pretty!

  2. Lynne Says:

    Christina,
    I will be following Moda’s site…I shop at several stores that carry Moda…I will start chatting about it when I am in the
    stores. I am very excited!
    ~Lynne
    [w/l]

  3. Sherri Says:

    Your new fabrics are just beautiful, and I enjoyed meeting you both at market! I’m still trying to decide what to do with my little sample of your fabric I brought home!

  4. Janet (Shabbyfufu) Says:

    I cannot WAIT!!! Looking forward to making some of my dress forms with your shabby faded textiles!
    xo,
    Janet

  5. Susan Says:

    Congratulations on your lovely fabric – I look forward to using some.

  6. Alison Says:

    What is the new collection called? I can’t see anything under Moda’s September releases that looks like it.

  7. Jami (freckled laundry) Says:

    I can’t wait to see more of the MODA line!

  8. Jan Says:

    All I can say is wow…..so excited! I am a huge fan of your company, the fabric, I live in Canada…..nothing like it here……always looking, but nothing….I have all of the books you have published, love the look….too bad September is so far away!
    Jan

    • Cabbages & Roses Says:

      Hi Jan Thank you so much for the thoughtful comment. We really do appreciate it. Our blog as been a super tool to connect us with so many lovely people such as yourself. Please stay tuned for some promotions on the blog in the coming weeks where we will be giving away some of the MODA fabric. xxx C&R

  9. Monica Lee Says:

    Oh girls! I love it and want it all! red to wear, blue to sew for my house. This line can go anywhere!

  10. Cabbages and Roses curtains! Says:

    […] Since I am on the decor/house thing, I thought I would show you pics of the curtains that I made from this positively LOVELY linen fabric from Cabbages and Roses. I used the floral print Elgin with the blue  Jolly Stripe to make curtains for my dining room. I  love the result! I have Provence Toile to go with it for a runner and coordinating pillows for the living room. I already have the feather pillow forms but need to get to  the sewing part! I got to spend some time with Christina Strutt and her daughter Kate at Quilt Market and at Surtex, lucky me. They simply could not be more entertaining! Spending time with a designer like Christina inspires me to go to that really  creative space that is often pushed aside in the name of business. Good thing Suzie, our agent, is there to keep that part on track! The Cabbages, as they are referred to, did just sign with Moda so some of their patterns are available in quilting weight cottons. You can check it out on their blog here. […]

  11. Vicki Says:

    I can hardly wait for the fabrics to arrive in the stores! I have several quilts and bags planned for them already. I practically squealed with delight when I caught a glimpse of the Cabbages and Roses items at Market.

    • Cabbages & Roses Says:

      Hi Vicki Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about our new fabric line with us. We too are quite excited. Be sure to let your fabric store know about the line so you have plenty to sew with in September. xx C&R

Leave a comment