Meet the rest of the Cabbages & Roses team!

Jackie Borland

1. How long Have your worked at C&R? And, what position do you hold? After 10 months earning my stripes in the C&R shops I moved to HO (Home Office) to become a production assistant/ Bubbles 5 months ago.
2. Why did you join C&R? I happened to be passing the shop in Wandsworth, took a part time job and have never looked back.
3. What is your favorite part about being on the C&R team? No two days are ever the same.
4. Your favorite piece of the Spring/Summer line? I am in love with the floral linen Bea Coat, just need to see if the bank balance will allow for it!

5. Best place to:

  • Buy vintage – Charity shops in up market areas, particularly I love the British Red Cross shop on Old Church Street, London, Chelsea, SW3.
  • Eat out…I love J Sheekeys in Wyndam Square just behind Leicester Square tube station. It does the most amazing fish and is always full of thespian theatre types.
  • Let off steam… there’s nothing I like more than a sunny Sunday afternoon in my local pub, with close friends and a good Sunday roast…Bliss!
  • Shop…If I can bear to battle my way through the crowds, you can’t beat Oxford Circus. Everything is in one place.

6. One thing we don’t know about C&R – it is run as a complete democracy, everyone is allowed input and every opinion valued and considered, which is absolutely lovely.

Sabine Kokles

1. How long have your worked at C&R? And, what position do you hold? Directly to C&R Nov 2007 (worked for C&R since April 2006 through Jigsaw)   Merchandising/stock control guru, master of all figures

2. Why did you join C&R? Still asking me the same question
3. Your favorite part about being on the C&R team? Every day is different, atmosphere and these lovely strange people working here
4. Your favorite piece of the Spring/Summer line?  Can’t pick, too many nice pieces

5. Best place to:

  • Eat out : too busy being a yummy mummy
  • Let off steam : I am as chilled as strawberry ice cream
  • Shop: I think I used to do this in the past.

Linda Cordona

1. How long have you worked at C&R?  And, what is your position? Freezin huddled over a radiator – Production / Product development Manager / 4 years in April @ 9:27am.
2. Why did you join C&R? Had no choice the pull was too great!!
3. What is your favorite part about being on the C&R team? Seeing the envy on others people’s faces
4. What is your favorite piece of the Spring/Summer line? Anything that sells well but if I had to choose I’d say the Sandy Frill jacket.  The Carpenter Pant is an achievment as it limped into the collection a little confused but once we worked on it ‘Cabbaging’ it now has attitude and good sales.

5. Best place to:

  • Buy vintage- My wardrobe in the area marked “just in case these come back in fashion’
  • Eat out – My kitchen
  • Let off steam – Sand a door
  • Shop – Ripley Farmers Market, any antique fair

Amy Gibbons

1. How long have your work at C&R?  And what is your position? Current position – sitting behind desk in fabric corner.  Not even completely sure of my job title but I more or less manage Home, Fabrics, Antiques and Display.
Been at cabbages for about 6 years and done almost every job going

2. Why did you join C&R? Started off in the Langton street branch as a sales assistant.  I loved the company from the moment I stepped into the shop and was desperate to work in the shop-come-living room and remember being thrilled after my first day – esp after meeting Kate’s naughty, oversized rabbit called Bungey who was chilling out downstairs, munching through phone lines etc.

3. What is your favorite part about being on the C&R team? That it feels like one big family of slightly strange women that keeps evolving and becoming better and better.

4. What is your favorite piece of the Spring/Summer line?
Baggy jeans and stripe top I am wearing in the catalogue (what I show-off I know!)

5. Best place to:

  • Best place to buy vintage – Kempton Market – But remember your torch, warm shoes and ability to haggle your socks off.
  • Best place to let off steam – Playing Badminton of course!
  • Best place to shop after Cabbages & Roses – probably Gap as I find there plain basics often sit well with Cabbages..

6. One thing we don’t know about C&R?
We once had an office puppy called Walter..he now lives with Christina in Bath when he grew out of Sabine’s In Tray..
He is the chap in most of the shoots that looks like a cross between a corgi/fox/jack russel.  He is a bit of a show off..
I miss him.

Sophie Marsh

1. How long have you worked at C&R?  And, what is your position? Trade & interior design manager, 2 years this summer
2. Why did you join C&R? I came across it entirely randomly and spent a long time persuading them to let me in
3. What is your favorite part about being on the C&R team? there’s so few of us that everyone does a bit of everything to make it work which makes it constantly unpredictable
4. Your favorite piece of the Spring/Summer line? stone wash stripe dress

5. Best place to:

  • Shop: I don’t very much, but brick lane or ebay mostly

6. One thing we don’t know about C&R: there is almost always someone in the office eating pitta bread and humous

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

