I have a brand new obsession to add to my already extensive list of obsessions which include, checking my i phone for e mails, finding sources of power to charge my i phone, the pigeons willfully destroying my seedlings, British politics, avoiding using my car, what can I eat next ….and on and on it goes.   My new obsession is checking sales of Cabbages & Roses books on Amazon, something that until a week ago, I had no idea was possible.   Our third book ‘Home Made Vintage‘ is number 60 in the top 100 books of its category (#25 in the US) and it has been there 232 days!   It is number 2,245 in books which I presume is all books??  To put this into perspective our first book is number 142,548!!   These statistics are reviewed hourly, which is an excellent distraction/obsession encourager.
The point, I think, of this endless list, is to avoid what is now becoming a pressing and worrying job, designing Cabbages & Roses collection for Spring Summer 2011.    I have started and ‘Calcutta’ (a mezzanine glass box within our lovely white barn affectionately called Calcutta because of the extreme heat in the summer months) is beginning to be furnished with drawings of the collection, jersey wear is up there, along with a tiny bit of knitwear and several woven designs – it is nearly lovely but a long way from being complete, patterns are being made, sample fabrics are awaiting beautiful shapes, and the empty boards are awaiting designs.   Sadly though, my head is crammed full of meaningless distractions and leaves no room for being creative……
The next two weeks are deliciously full of important distractions, The House & Garden Spirit of Summer Fair is taking place at Olympia in London, (see our website for details) we have a lovely space where we will be selling our collections – this takes us to Saturday, when Kate and I shall be flying to New York to fulfill many business commitments organised by our Lovely Suzie at Branding inc. culminating in a book signing party at ArchiviaBooks (933 Lexington Ave b/w 72 and 71 street) on Thursday night.
I am hoping that the eight hour flight will encourage me to concentrate on designing, where I can bannish all thoughts of pigeons, who will be our next Prime Minister, how to charge my i phone, but I have just thought of another – will that Icelandic volcano decide to fill the airspace with a million tons of ash???   I had better check……….
xxc

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

