Our lovely shop in Japan…

Cabbages & Roses Shop visited by

British Minister of State, Jeremy Brown

Last Monday, Jeremy Brown, the British Minister of State at the Foreign and Commonwealth office, visited our little shop in Daikanyama. He was visiting Tokyo in the wake of the earthquake in March, which caused such devastation in Japan. His mission, organised by the British Embassy in Tokyo, was to investigate British companies who, in spite of the unfortunate events, have managed to thrive. Cabbages & Roses opened as scheduled one week after the earthquake and in the face of adversity, has enjoyed much success and was singled out as one such enterprise. He was proudly received by our ‘Tokyo Roses’ and enjoyed a little patch of England in the Japanese streets. Commenting on the authenticity and old fashioned Britishness of the brand, he wished us all much luck for our future with our Japanese partners.

Jeremy Brown Visit

Jeremy Brown Visit

Jeremy Brown Visits Japan

Christina xx

Tags: , , , , , ,

24 Responses to “Our lovely shop in Japan…”

  1. Monica Lee Says:

    This is a lovely story!

  2. Axelle Says:

    Good luck and brillant start for the shop !
    I am sure it will be a full succes !

  3. manon21 Says:

    bonne chance…

    Amicalement,

    Manon

  4. Anne Marie Says:

    to think that Japanese women can purchase your items and furnish their homes…that will make for some beautiful juxtapositions of different styles….how very cool!!

    I wanted to let you know Christina, that when Fifi sent me some of your fabric, I saved it for use someday…and so I recently made some really relaxed curtains over my kitchen sink – I’m posting the pictures today to share with my readers

    Hope you are doing well!
    xo+blessings,
    Anne Marie

  5. Anne Marie Says:

    they are up on the post now….I absolutely love the way the light comes through linen, and with those faded roses it’s brings such a romance into my kitchen

    thank YOU!

  6. Angela Noble Says:

    Really! Lovely shop I had never seen this type shops before. Cabbages & roses name also so amazing.

  7. laura benthien Says:

    How wonderful! I would love to visit your new shop someday. Congratulations! Laura B

  8. Kim Says:

    Congratulations I wish you continued success!

    Happy Sewing

  9. lanybleu Says:

    All the very best of luck..

  10. Sue Bennett Says:

    Very nice shop.

  11. madamquiltsalot ~ Linda Says:

    WOW ! To have such a visitor, it is wonderful. Good Luck and keep up the good work, I for one love your fabric.

  12. jessica Says:

    What a wonderful visitor! The shop is beautiful! I found you on Facebook, love the photos that you shared… beautiful designs.

  13. Carline Anthony Says:

    What an honor this must have been for you and your shop. Congratulations.

  14. Sharrieboberry Says:

    Fantastic! So when is the PM scheduled to visit the local shop? ^_^

  15. Karen S, Says:

    I hope all of you are safe after the typhoon. I visited your blog for the MODA Country Fair Hop. It must have been very exciting to have the British Minister of State in your shop. I loved your post.

  16. Kim Says:

    Love your fabric line, and your shop looks like so …..much fun. Also love the gingham checked dress and denim jacket in an earlier post. What Fun!!!

  17. Janice Regier Says:

    Those Lucky Japanese folks !

  18. Suzanne M. Says:

    What a nice event for your Tokyo store. Love the fabrics.

  19. Denise Armitage Says:

    Wow, I had no idea you are in Japan. I lived there for 3 years as a child and I loved it. My mother did as well, and left me all her beautiful treasures she collected, including my own pink floral Kimono made for me. I wish you the best of luck. My heart just broke watching the videos. I cried, and I prayed for the people there. Best of luck.

  20. simone Says:

    What a lovely shop you have in Japan! And your website is great too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 382 other followers

